the fourth space

those spaces in between life, thinking, the physical world, and humanity

What do you do in the in-between spaces? When do in-between thoughts arise?

I was thinking about this, and I know for me, my best thinking and thoughts arise when I am NOT working directly on a topic or idea. Such as when I am:

pausing

concentrating on breath

meditating

gardening

washing dishes, washing car, etc, cleaning

showering

swimming/exercising

daydreaming

tinkering 

cooking, chopping, sweeping

walking

reading

flipping through magazines,

looking at something, observing something

conversation

movies

hearing someone else speak about a topic

closing my eyes

 

One comment on “What do you do in the in-between spaces? When do in-between thoughts arise?

  1. SarabethBerk
    February 8, 2013

    In his book “Imagine”, Jonah Lehrer talks exactly about this phenomena. His has the neuroscience research but also the pop culture explanation for why this happens. I’ll have to reference it, but he says it is these periods of relaxation, when we turn off some dominant/censor part of our brain, that allows the other synapses to flow and make those “remote associations” (I know that’s a key term he uses).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2013 by .
